Dozza is considered one of the most characteristic medieval villages in the Tuscan-Romagna Apennines, both for its state of preservation and for the beautiful landscape in which it is set. The name Dozza derives from medieval Latin ducia (shower, gargoyle, gargoyle);The etymology refers to the concept of a canal that conducts water.
The Rocca and Rocchetta with the Rivellino (the characteristic military fortification with 2 detached flanks rising to the inner escarpment) date back to the 13th century.
In 1412 Dozza became a fief of the noble Alidosi family, which then later ceded the village to the Riario family.
During the xv and xvi centuries Dozza was under the rule of Caterina Sforza wife of Girolamo Riario, it was the latter who defined the appearance of the Rocca and the defensive walls that still characterize it today.
In 1728 the enfeoffment of the Campeggi family ceased and the Holy See assigned the fiefdom to Emilio Malvezzi. The rule of the Campeggi-Malvezzi marquises particularly accentuated the military appeal: seventeenth- and eighteenth-century paintings belonging to the two families can be seen inside the Rocca.
Inside the Rocca the fascinating Hall of Supplizi, the Ancient Prisons and the charming Kitchen are accessible to the public. The ancient layout of the medieval village of Dozza remained unchanged for centuries, until the early 2000s when a restoration of the cobblestones of Via XX Settembre was carried out, which made it possible to reopen the embrasures, recover the ancient fountain and bring to light a large olla from the late 19th century, now visible at the entrance to the Rocca.